Sidney W. and Janet R. Bijou Grant

The Sidney W. and Janet R. Bijou Grant provides funding for one student per year in a psychology or education doctoral program that can support research in behavioral child development. For each academic year, the endowment will provide one $10,000 grant.

In December 1996, Dr. Sidney W. and Janet R. Bijou funded a substantial endowment to SABA to establish this grant program, and in 2003 Dr. Bijou made a second donation. Dr. Bijou passed away on June 11, 2009, at the age of 100. His obituary can be read here.

This grant will be provided to support doctoral student research designed to improve our understanding of children's development, based on behavior analytic and developmental science concepts. Developmental concepts could include chronological and developmental age, or neurobiological and genetic factors associated with development. While intervention research could be appropriate, the primary research questions (independent variables) must be related to developmental principles. Examples are changes in reinforcer preference with age, and effectiveness of verbal behavior interventions in children of differing developmental ages. The primary purpose may not be to overcome deficits or challenges associated with a behavioral disorder or developmental disability (e.g., ADHD, autism), independent of a fundamental developmental principle.

Click here or visit Dr. Bijou's website for information about Sidney and Janet Bijou.

Grant Application Details

The application deadline for the 2014 Sidney W. and Janet R. Bijou Grant has passed. Please check back in late summer 2014 for details on applications for 2015 grants.

Previous Recipients

The SABA Sidney W. and Janet R. Bijou Grant was first awarded in 1998. From 1998 to 2003, a single award was given annually. From 2003 to 2012, two grants were given annually. For 2014 a single grant of double the amount of previous grants is planned. The list of previous grant recipients is available here, and provides links to information about each winner's research project.