Scientific Translation

The Award for Scientific Translation is given in one of the following categories: (1) impact of science on application, (2) technology transfer, or (3) social impact. These awards can go to individuals or teams from the public or private sector, who need not be members of ABAI.


Those recommended in the impact of science on application category should demonstrate experimental or theoretical innovations in behavior analysis that have had significant impact on applications. The impact should be demonstrated, but the winner does not have to carry out the applications.


Those recommended in the technology transfer category should contribute to successful incorporation of procedures or technologies directly linked to behavior science principles into procedures used in practice settings. The spirit of this award is to recognize both unidirectional translation (bench-to-bedside or bedside-to-bench) and interactive efforts (bench-to-bedside and back).


Those recommended in the social impact category should have demonstrated the potential for significant impact on the incidence, prevalence, or severity of socially significant issues through approaches directly linked to behavior science or culturo-behavior science, or that effectively incorporate behavioral principles. This award may be given regardless of the terminology employed or the explanation offered by those responsible for the applications. 


Award Recommendation Details 

Current ABAI Full members may make award recommendations here. (Log in using your ABAI portal username and password.)



Ken Silverman (2023) 


Stephen T. Higgins (2022)


Allen Neuringer (2021)


Leonard Green (2020)


Warren Bickel (2019)


Michael Perone (2018)


Anthony Biglan (2017)


Alan D. Poling (2016)


Ron Van Houten (2015)


George Bigelow and Maxine Stitzer (2013)


Pauline Horne and Charles Fergus Lowe (2012)


Dean L. Fixsen (2011)


William J. McIlvane (2010)


Humanitarian Award

Liliana Mayo (2018)


Previous Winners Under the Award for Public Service in Behavior Analysis

Thomas McKenzie (2009) 


Michael Keenan (2008) 


Henry Pennypacker (2007)


Robert Horner (2006) 


Robert Mager (2005)


Michael Hemingway (2004), posthumously


Douglas Carnine (2003)


Richard Malott (2002)


Kent Johnson (2001)


Charles Schuster (2000)


Gerald Shook (1999)


Aubrey Daniels (1997)


Previous Winners Under the ABA Award Committee 

Brian Iwata (1996)


Gina Green (1995)


John Jacobson (1994)


Previous Winners Under the Award for Impact of Science on Application 

Travis Thompson (2009)


Murray Sidman (2008)


Steven Hayes (2007)


Nathan Azrin (2006)


Howard Rachlin (2005)


Tony Nevin (2004)